Human Leukocyte Antigen (HLA) part 13

hla protein 1

In kidney transplantation, current criteria for HLA matching consider three loci: HLA-A, HLA-B and HLA-DR. Each allele is defined as a single antigen assigned by serologic typing criteria (eg HLA-A1, HLA-B44, HLA-DR7). Each donor and recipient can type for up to six different HLA antigens encoded by these loci, and HLA compatibility is usually assessed by the number of HLA mismatches (or matches) of the donor. Many studies has shown a stepwise decrease in graft survival of cadaver kidneys with increasing numbers of  HLA mismatches. The superior results with zero HLA-A, HLA-B and HLA-DR mismacthes have led to a system of mandatory sharing of such donor kidneys.


About azaleaazelia

A nice person... :)
This entry was posted in Tak Berkategori. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s